Democratic Republic of the Congo

about Democratic Republic of the Congo

Capital: Kinshasa

Population: 108 million

Official language: French

Location: Central Africa, northeast of Angola

Climate: Tropical with varying rainy seasons

Main Religions: Roman Catholic 29.9%, Protestant 26.7% and Christian 36.5%  (2014 est.)

Largest Age Group: 0-14 years:46.38%

Population Density: Urban clusters dotted throughout the country, particularly in the northeast; the largest city is the capital, Kinshasha, located in the west along the Congo River; the south is least densely populated.

Natural hazards: Periodic droughts in south; Congo River floods (seasonal); active volcanoes in the east along the Great Rift Valley